top of page
Jasmine C. Belle

I believe in the power of romance to bring happiness and hope into people’s lives.

  • good
  • twti
Subscribe to Get Updates Right to Your E-mail!
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Top Five Lesbian Fiction of 2017: Here’s to the Writers Who Bring Us Joy

The books published this year absolutely blew me away. There were so many books that were incredible five out of five star reads, but then there were the books that touched my soul. The books that gave me that feeling of Oh my God I am never going to read a book as good as this ever again. It’s almost like a high. It’s moving around with an emotional hangover for days. It’s trying to start three books and giving up after a few pages, because even when they’re perfectly good books, they’re just not right, they’re just not exactly like the perfect book you just read. Its maddening, but in the best possible way.

I used to get that feeling all the time as a kid. It was part of my identity the first 15 years or so of my life. Somewhere along the way life got busy and I lost touch with that part of myself until I discovered lesfic last year. It’s the best feeling in the world, rediscovering parts of yourself you had long since forgotten about, with the simple task of losing yourself in a book for three or four hours. A feeling that instantly launches that book to the top of my favourite list and keeps that book in a special place in my heart forever. Here is a list of my absolute favourite books of this past year, the books that reignited a missing part of myself, touched my soul, and changed my life.

Here’s to the writers who bring us joy and escape to our daily lives. To showing us we’re not alone. To showing us that happy endings are out there. That diversity is beautiful. That women are strong.

1. Strawberry Summer by Melissa Brayden (April 2017)

Maggie and Courtney fell for each other in high school, in their idyllic small town. Their love for one another grows from teenage affection into a lasting relationship. But life isn’t always kind to young lovers, and they are separated until five years later Courtney returns to their town after the death of her father. Can they mend old wounds and reignite the love between them? Or is it time to finally let their feelings go.

This book was just so sweet, my teeth hurt just remembering it. But gosh did it ever tug at your heartstrings, with the rich characters and picturesque setting and genuine drama. This is a feel-good book for sure, but also a book that touches your heart and makes you thankful for the lives and relationships we have.

I started and finished this book in one sitting. And so did my girlfriend. We didn’t speak for hours, we just devoured this book. It was a beautiful book, and a beautiful experience to share with my girlfriend. It made this book extra special.

2. Summer’s Cove by Aurora Rey (October 2017)

Darcy is a chef with a young son, Liam. Emerson, an Artist, meets Darcy at a wedding and the attraction is instantaneous. Emerson and young Liam become friends, while Emerson and Darcy struggle with their attraction for each other. Darcy is hesitant to enter into a relationship that could hurt her son if Emerson disappears from their lives if things don’t work out between them. The two women navigate the complexities of their relationship, but in the end love always wins.

Ah, how can I just pick one book by Aurora Rey. But this book, I believe it’s the best books she’s written so far. She has all my favourite aspects of her writing - the food, the characters, the setting, the swoon worthy romance…But my god the love scenes in this book were hands down the best love scenes I’ve read this year. The sensuality of this book was absolutely incredible. This book is the perfect escape for a winter’s day, it’ll warm your heart and ignite your love for anything Aurora Rey writes.

I love Aurora Rey’s writing, it always feels like she’s writing books especially for me. She captures all the pieces of my own life, my hopes and dreams and fantasies, and pours them into her characters and into her books. Thank you for these books, for they will stay my favourites forever, forever making me feel like I matter, that I’m the hero of my own story. Thank you as well for everything you say about the power of romance and for defending the genre like you do, I believe in it wholeheartedly, I’ve found a kindred spirit in your words.

*The third book in Cape End Romances, Spring’s Wake, is out in March!

3. Pieces by G. Benson (May 2017)

This book is important. This book is special. This book is everything.

I can’t thank G. Benson enough for putting this masterpiece out into the world.

Ollie and Carmen’s story begins like a typical teenage hook up, sweet and clumsy at a party. But when Carmen’s mother dies, and her life is thrown out of orbit. She disappears form Ollie’s life. Every waking moment Carmen struggles to survive, to keep her bother healthy and happy, and to keep them together and out of foster care until she can gain custody at 18. It’s not until months later that Ollie and Carmen reconnect, and the two struggle through the realities of their lives together.

I don’t have the words to describe how wonderful this book is. It’s rich and it’s real. It will absolutely gut you but in the best possible way. It will make you think, make you laugh, and make you cry over and over again. There are many books to come in the new year, but take some time to go back and read this book form 2017 if you haven’t, because I think it has the power to change our lives and open our minds and our hearts.

4. Water’s Edge by Genevieve Fortin (June 2017)

Best friends from a young age, Emilie and Angeline are surprised by the passion between them when the teenagers share a chance kiss. But it’s the late 1800s, and Angeline is resigned to marry Emilie’s brother. Emilie want’s more out of this world and travels to Boston where she feeds her mind and satisfies her passions, but her heart is always missing an Angeline shaped piece. Tragedy brings them together once more, and shows us that no matter the time, or the world we live in, love is the most powerful force on the planet.

This book brought me on an emotional journey, reminding me of my favourite historical fiction and how much it means to me. It made me feel like I was 9 years old, reading The Sky is Falling. Like I was 11, reading the first of many Dear Canada books. Like I was 14, reading Jeanne, Fille du Roy. Like I was 15, reading Outlander. Those books were everything to me. Every perfect book marked the passage of time, holding my hand and guiding my heart as I grew up. Water’s Edge was there for me this year.

Water’s Edge is the culmination of good writing and how a book deeply touches your soul. Perfect details, great adventures, heartbreaks and triumphs, and a romance that lasts a lifetime. This is easily one of the best historical lesbian romance out there. If you love historical fiction as much as I do, you will not be disappointed by this book. I’m looking forward to more books by this brilliant author in the year to come.

5. The Brutal Truth by Lee Winter (November 2017)

Maddie is a ‘lowly’ obituary writer when she meets Elena Bartell, owner of a million newspapers and countless fashion magazines. Elena is all business. Always. Until Maddie enters the picture, challenging her on a daily basis. The two women enter a surprising friendship, one laced with unrelenting attraction. But are their lives just too different? Will Elena be able to let Maddie in?

This was one of those books that left me with an emotional hangover. I moped about for days after because I didn’t think I would ever read a book as good as this one again. The slow burn romance in this book was one of the very best. Interesting and unique characters, fascinating storyline, and the most brilliant upon brilliant writing. Lee Winter has an incredible gift with words. This book, and everything else I’ve read by them, is so real it’s like a high definition movie playing in my head. Only better. Because of course, the book is always better than the movie. Once you read one book by this marvelous author, you will need to read them all. And it still won’t be enough. I don’t think the world will ever get enough of Lee Winter’s books!

I’ve had some wonderful experiences in the lesfic community this past year. I’m looking forward to a year of growth in my own writing, to experiencing books by all the wonderful debut authors to come, and to reading all the new books by my favourite authors as well! Here’s to the writers! Happy writing!


bottom of page